Return to Our School


A very warm welcome from the Governors of Newberries Primary School.

The role of the Governing Body is a strategic one and by working closely with the Headteachers and their senior leadership team, we aim to ensure that the school is providing the best possible education and standards for its pupils, as well as financial management. The Governors, who are all volunteers, bring a diversity of knowledge, skills and experience and act as a ‘critical friend’ to the Headteachers by asking questions and providing support and strategic guidance.    Our key responsibilities are to:

  • Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Hold executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  • Oversee the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

The full Governing Body convenes three times a year and the three main sub-committees: Resources & Finance, Curriculum and Personal meet at least termly.

The Governors are all passionate about education and committed to ensuring that Newberries maintains its high standards and continually improves to ensure the best possible outcomes.  Newberries already has a fantastic reputation and one that we wish to see continue for years to come.

If you wish to contact the Governing Board you can do so by emailing the Chair of Governors:

If you want to find out more about school governance, you can read the Governance Handbook, published by the Department of Education and available on the website.

We will be very happy to hear from you.

Name Category Roles and Responsibility Committee and Attendance Date of First Appointment Renewal Pecuniary interest FGB attendance 01/09/2019-31/08/2020
Ms Ness Peters Head Teacher Head teacher Resources and Finance
N/A 2/3
Mrs Anna Traxon Associate HT Governor Head teacher Resources and Finance
N/A 2/3
Sarah Ginsberg Chair Of Governors
LA Governor
Safeguarding Governor Resources and Finance
27/06/2016 24/06/2024 2/3
Lewis Myers Vice-Chair of Governors
Co-opted Governor
Health & Safety
Curriculum, Personnel and Finance, Personnel 21/06/2017 20/06/2021 2/3
Iain Blakely Co-opted Governor Panels Curriculum 09/11/2020 08/11/2024 2/3
Neil Caplan Parent Governor Panels Curriculum 20/10/2017 20/10/2021 2/3
Richard Finer Parent Governor Grants
Website Compliance
Resources and Finance (Co-chair) 01/02/2017 25/2/2025 2/3
Natalie Gurevitz Co-opted Governor Well-being Curriculum 10/03/2021 09/03/2025 0/1
Josh Handel Co-opted Governor Resources and Finance
09/11/2020 08/11/2024 2/3
Claire Ridgway Parent Governor Resources and Finance 26/02/2021 25/02/2025 0/1
Lucy Selby Co-Opted Governor PTA
Training and Development
Stakeholder Engagement Panels
Personnel (Chair) 20/11/15 19/11/2023 Local Councillor 2/3
Rachel Wright Co-opted Governor Stakeholder Engagement Curriculum 27/03/2019 26/03/2023 2/3
Mrs Heather Morris-Bowman Associate Governor Senior Leadership Team Representative Curriculum 02/09/2020 01/09/2023 2/3
Mrs Nicola Webster-Smith Staff Governor Senior leadership team representative Curriculum 19/03/2018 19/03/2022 Mat. leave
Mrs Erica Cook Observer School Business Manager Resources and Finance 5/03/2021 04/03/2025 1/2
Former Governors Date left
Mrs Jo Baxter Associate Member Senior leadership team representative Resources and Finance 19/03/2018 25/07/2020 0/0
Mrs Jane Woods Associate Member Senior Business Manager Resources and Finance 06/11/2018 05/03/2021 1/1
Beverley Grant Co-opted Governor Resources and Finance 28/11/2018 17/12/2020 1/1
Martin Shields Parent Governor e-safety Resources and Finance 09/01/2014 17/12/2020 1/1

* Associate Governors and Observers do not have voting rights.

No pecuniary interests have been declared by any Governors and none of our Governors has a governance role in another educational institution.

Permanent link to this article: